Qu'est-ce que Mensa?

En Bref

Mensa est un club international de personnes qui ont réussi un score dans les 2% supérieurs d'un test de QI standardisé. Depuis sa fondation en 1946, Mensa s'est développée jusqu'à atteindre plus de 100'000 membres. Les membres n'ont aucune tâche particulière à accomplir, mais nombreux sont ceux qui choisissent d'organiser des rencontres, fêtes, cours et voyages à l'étranger. Mensa permet la rencontre de personnes ayant des idées et intérêts différents, mais l'association elle-même n'exprime pas d'opinion politique ou religieuse.

De plus amples informations:


Qu'est-ce que Mensa?

Mensa est un réseau international de personnes intelligentes. Comme indiqué précédemment, le seul critère d'admission est d'avoir obtenu un score dans les 2% supérieurs d'un test de QI standardisé. C'est pour cela qu'il n'existe pas de Mensan "typique" et c'est également ce qui rend le club attrayant.

Amusez-vous avec l'intelligence

Oui, vous avez bien lu. A Mensa vous pouvez également - mais pas seulement - avoir du plaisir à utiliser vos méninges et trouver de nouvelles réponses surprenantes à des questions élucidées, apparemment il y a bien longtemps.

Qu'est-ce que l'intelligence? Des scientifiques en débattent et des amateurs spéculent. La science donne toutefois des pistes assez précises; l´intelligence serait "le siège des fonctions physiques (mémoire, capacité d'apprentissage, capacité à reconnaître, aptitude à se concentrer, volonté) qui servent à appréhender de nouvelles situations" ou encore cette courte formule: "L'intelligence est ce que mesurent les tests d'intelligence." Isaac Asimov (1920-1992), biochimiste, écrivain de science-fiction et vice-président honoraire de Mensa, exprimait les difficultés qui existent à décrire et à mesurer l'intelligence:

"Le cerveau humain est [...] plus ou moins bien plus complexe qu'une étoile; et c'est la raison pour laquelle nous en savons bien plus sur les étoiles que sur le cerveau humain. Et l'aspect le plus complexe du cerveau est son intelligence." Une discussion sensée sur les multiples sujets sous-jacents de l'intelligence nécessite de grandes connaissances sur l'actualité de la recherche dans ce domaine. Comme un membre a dit un jour, l'intelligence c'est comme du béton: "tout dépend de ce que vous allez en faire." L'intelligence est un don que vous pouvez ignorer ou dont vous pouvez faire usage.

Comment tout a commencé

En 1946, un Anglais et un Australien se sont par hasard assis l'un en face de l'autre dans un train roulant bruyamment à travers les banlieues de Londres dévastées par les bombes. Tous deux digressèrent sur l'usage de l'intelligence dans une optique de paix et pour le bien de l'humanité. Ils baptisèrent leur club "Mensa", du latin table, car leur objectif était d'amener des personnalités douées autour d'une table. Caché dans ce terme, un autre mot latin "mens" signifie "esprit" ou encore "intellect".

Que "fait" Mensa?

Mensa a l'ambition de faire se rencontrer des êtres humains intelligents et de promouvoir l'exploration de l'intelligence. Ces buts sont inscrits dans les statuts de "Mensa International" déposés à Londres. Mensa met à disposition un cadre qui ne peut être rempli que par l'activité de ses membres. Les offres sont variées, la liste des activités immense, tout un chacun peut participer, sans aucune obligation. Que vous ayez le temps et l'envie de vous rendre aux rencontres, que vous soyez communicatif ou réservé, aucune importance, vous êtes le bienvenu au club. Même les introvertis ont leur place au sein de Mensa. Les membres passifs restent en contact avec l'association grâce au magazine interne.

Rencontres

Des rencontres mensuelles ont lieu dans la plupart des grandes villes. Quiconque souhaite organiser une activité supplémentaire ne doit surtout pas s'en priver! Que ce soit un restaurant, un ciné, un séminaire ou encore un spectacle de nouvel an, tout est possible. N'oublions pas non plus les rencontres internationales, où généralement les cinq continents sont représentés quand les participants sont nombreux. Les non-membres et "presque-membres" sont toujours les bienvenus aux activités, personne ne leur demandera à combien s'élève leur QI, d'ailleurs c'est une question qui ne se pose pas entre Mensans.

Groupes d'intérêts

N'importe quel membre intéressé par l'échange de connaissances ou par la participation à des discussions sur des sujets particuliers peut s'inscrire à un "Groupe d'Intérêt Spécifique" (ou encore GIS / SIG) ou en fonder un. Il existe plus de 300 SIG dans le monde; les alpinistes se rencontrent au GamSIG, les amateurs d'énigmes au EnigmaSIG, les joueurs à Interlude ou Jeu-Table, les photographes à ClicSIG, etc.

Rencontres Internationales: SIGHT et Mensa World Connect

L'abréviation "SIGHT" signifie "Service d'Information, de Guide et d'Hospitalité aux Touristes". Ce concept n'est rien d'autre qu'une hospitalité internationale basée sur l'échange et la réciprocité. Souvent les hôtes se proposent comme guides, font visiter leur ville et indiquent les lieux d'intérêt du pays. Quant au programme Mensa World Connect, il se propose de réunir les groupes locaux de différentes pays.

Qu'allez-vous trouver à Mensa?

Un homme sage dit une fois: "Rendez-vous à une rencontre Mensa et vous n'y trouverez que ce que vous y chercherez. Si vous cherchez des discussions, vous en trouverez. Si vous cherchez des jeux, vous en trouverez. Si vous cherchez des conférences intéressantes et qui donnent matière à réflexion, vous en trouverez. Si vous cherchez de l'amusement, de bon goût ou pas, vous en trouverez." Vous voyez maintenant que Mensa est une espèce de melting-pot de personnages qui n'ont de commun qu'une minuscule facette de leur personnalité, celle d'avoir bien réussi à un test d'intelligence scientifiquement reconnu. Les membres ont des compétences dans des domaines variés et les partagent. Ne soyez donc pas surpris d'entendre des réponses pointues ou humoristiques à des questions farfelues car rares sont les moments sérieux des rencontres Mensa, elles laissent place à de grandes idées, à des discussions et à la créativité. Les membres décrivent eux-mêmes Mensa comme "un hybride entre un club de sport intellectuel et un groupe d'entraide" qu'on pourrait appeler "Intellectuels Anonymes", mais c'est aussi un excellent moyen d'occuper ses loisirs. Mensa n'est pas un substitut aux amis, c'est un plus.

What is Mensa

Briefly


Mensa is an international community of persons who have scored in the top 2% on a standardized IQ test. Since its founding in 1946, Mensa has grown to more than 130'000 members. Members are not obliged to perform specific tasks but many choose to attend meetings, parties, courses, and international journeys. At Mensa different people meet having different interests and opinions, but the organisation itself does not represent any political or religious opinion.



More information:





What is Mensa?


Mensa is a worldwide connection of intelligent people. As previously stated the only requirement for admission is to score in the top 2% on a standardized IQ test. Because of this, you will find that there is no such thing as a "typical" Mensan- and that's what makes the club exciting.



Fun with intelligence


Yes, you read right. In Mensa you may also - not only - have joy in using your head and find surprising answers to questions seemingly answered a long time ago. What is Intelligence? Scholars debate and amateurs speculate. In science there are detailed outlines like intelligence should be "the state of the physical functions (memory, ability to learn, ability to recognize, ability to concentrate, will) at handling new situations" as well as the short formula "Intelligence is what the intelligence test is measuring." Isaac Asimov (1920-1992), biochemist, science fiction author, and honorary vice-president of Mensa, formulated the difficulties of describing and measuring intelligence: "The human brain is [...] much more complex as a star more or less; and that's the cause we know much more about the stars than about the human brain. And the most complex aspect about the brain is its intelligence." A founded discussion about the many folded subject of Intelligence needs lots of knowledge of the state of the art in its research. As one member says, intelligence is like concrete: "it simply depends, what you are doing with it." Intelligence is a gift you may use or let it go.



Intelligence and personality


Intelligence is one of many facets that make men. Therefore a high IQ is no cause for intellectual arrogance (someone who wants to show off at a Mensa meeting with his IQ will have the same problem as an exhibitionist on a nudist camp: nobody is looking). Mensa members have only a high IQ in common, for the other they don't differ from the rest of mankind. In Mensa you may find small and fat, big and little, beautiful and ugly, lazy and hardworking, tactless and discrete, concerned and thoughtless people.



Mythical: The IQ


The intelligence quotient is the result of a measurement done by an intelligence test. Not all procedures use the same scale, therefore you need to know the test to evaluate the result. That does not differ from temperature statements: the result "20 degree" is poor information as long as it is not clarified if "Celsius" or "Fahrenheit" are meant. Commonly the IQ is understood as a measure for intelligence but a test can exam only certain abilities, logical thinking or spatial imagination for example. Other aspects of intellectual ability are not or cannot be tested by a standardized exam such as creativity as well as social skills. No test will state if somebody is doing "right" by his fellows - even if exactly this ability is of high importance for living together. In spite of these known insufficiencies IQ tests are still the best means we have for measuring intelligence.



How it all began


In 1946 by chance an Englishman and an Australian sat together in a train rattling through the bombed suburbs of London. Both developed the idea to use intelligence for peace and the well being of mankind. They named the club "Mensa", Latin for "table" because of their target to bring intelligent people together at a table. At the same time in this word is hidden the Latin word "mens" meaning mind or intellect.



When was Mensa Switzerland founded?


The first meeting of Mensa Switzerland was held on September 24th, 1965, in Geneva. This is considered as our founding date by Mensa International. Dr. Hans Eberstark was the founder and first chairman. The list of all chairmen and chairwomen is:


1965 - 1969 : Hans Eberstark †
1969 - 1975 : Paul Kaufmann
1975 - 1979 : Max Frenkel
1979 - 1982 : Katia Chestopalov
1982 - 1986 : Aymar de Brossin
1986 - 1989 : Jean-Charles Berrini
1989 - 1993 : Laura Anne Hartmann
1993 - 2000 : Beat Unternährer †
2000 - 2001 : Tugrul Kircali
2001 - 2003 : Sophie Delaloye
2003 - 2005 : Michael Zwahlen
2005 - 2009 : François Aubert
2009 - 2011 : Ute Blasche 
2011 - 2011 : Stefan Berner
2011 - today : Mark Dettinger



What's Mensa "doing"?


Mensa wants to bring in contact intelligent people and to support exploration of intelligence. These targets are established in the statutes of Mensa International (residence: London). Mensa delivers solely a frame - the members have to fill it with life. The offerings have a wide range, the list of activities is a long one - everybody and each may join, but no one has to. If someone has the time and inclination to go to meetings, if he is communicative or is more reserved, does not matter for membership to the club. Also introverted people find their place in Mensa. Passive members may hold contact to the club by means of the club magazine.



Meetings


Monthly meetings are held in the larger towns. Whoever plans to organize an additional activity does not need to restrain her or his fantasy - from going to a restaurant or cinema, as well as seminars or sight seeing up to a New year's Eve meeting everything was done already. Not to forget about international meetings where often all five continents are represented, when there are around a bunch of people. Non-members and "not-yet-members" are welcome at meetings on invitation. Nobody will ask them after their IQ - Mensans don't do it as well between each other, by the way.



Hobby groups


Whoever is interested in exchange of knowledge or in contributing to discussions of e specific topic may join a "Special Interest Group" (short: SIG) or found one. There are over 300 SIGs worldwide; Alpinists meet in the GamSIG, riddle enthusiasts in the EnigmaSIG, bikers at the EaSIG Riders and experts in the LexiG.



International encounter: SIGHT and MensaMate


The abbreviation "SIGHT" stands for "Service of Information, Guidance and Hospitality to Travellers". Hidden in there is nothing other than worldwide hospitality on an exchange base. Often the hosts will serve as guides, show visitors their town and point out a country's sights. The program MensaMate has the purpose of bringing together local groups of different countries.



What will You find at Mensa?


A wise man once said: "go to a Mensa meeting and you will find only what you are looking for. If you look for discussions you will find them. If you look for games you will find them. If you look for interesting and thought binding lectures you will find them. If you look for good entertainment you will find it. If you look for bad entertainment you will find it also." Mensa is a mixed bunch of characters having in common only a tiny facet of their personality, you see, the good result at an intelligence test accepted by science. The members have knowledge of many different areas - and share it. Therefore don't be surprised, if you get a well-informed answer to the most extravagant question - or a humorous one. That's because in Mensa people meet in an atmosphere which is becoming serious only on rare occasions and leaves lot of space for brainwaves, discussions, and creativity. Therefore members described Mensa as a "hybrid of an intellectual sports club and a self help group", as "Eggheads Anonymous", but also as "one of many possibilities to organize leisure time". Mensa is not a replacement for friends and acquaintances - Mensa is an add on.